FEATURE: A Realtor Talks on Business and Her Mother’s Stage 4 Cancer

road

 

My client Melinda and I first met when I gave a training at her real estate office 11 years ago this month.

Since then, I’ve had the privilege of watching her professional and personal growth – from a rookie with her “phone glued to her hip” out of concern she’d miss a call to becoming a top realtor to the story you’re about to read.

During a 1:1 coaching call, I was so impressed by her wisdom, perspective and success that emerged during her year of challenges that I asked if I could share my notes from her session with you. Her words are italicized in blue.

Considering how much I’ve been out of the office, this year has been fantastic!

Her mother was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. Much of their year was scheduled around appointments that lasted many days at a time over many months at MD Anderson Cancer Center which is a four-hour drive each way.

While many would feel at the mercy of this experience, Melinda proactively designed hers.

I want things to happen on my time, when and how I choose them to happen.

At first, this sounds like a bold statement. Actually, she was applying principles and techniques she learned.

To begin with, they make the trips fun and something to enjoy by going to museums, restaurants and visiting family. They even celebrated her mother being cancer-free on a three-week vacation.

During the summer I thought I was having a bad year. However, 2016 is turning out to be a pretty good year. And I feel rested.

When we do trips to MD, we do a lot to make it an adventure and not a chore.

I’m focusing on my mother, taking care of me, getting my rest, doing business – but not killing myself over it.

I’m listening to my body. The world’s not going to come to an end if we’re not rushing around and stressing ourselves to the max. I’m choosing life. I’m creating memories and adventure.

I don’t feel like I have to prove myself to be a success.

Instead, she’s making a point to live her life.

Melinda and I previously had talked about what we do in the “dash.”

The dash (-)  is our life, what happens in between Date of Birth – Date of Passing that’s found on a headstone.

I’m adding to the dash.

When her mother’s regular treatments were almost completed, her father was hospitalized.

In the midst of medical confusion while in the hospital, he unexpectedly passed away.

She was able to put these experiences, including taking care of her finances in the midst of all this, in perspective.

Based on peace and faith – God gives me whatever I need. He’s always provided.

I’ve got someone looking out for me, and it’s always worked.

When you do that, you let go of that other garbage (fear).

This is the biggest shift for me this year.

I know of people who’ve died in a car accident. Things like that and dealing with my parents, in the big scheme of things, the petty things we get involved with … does it really matter?

There’s a lot of drama in the world now. People’s issues are coming up. The part of the clarity I’ve had is, why wig out on all this stuff?

Sometimes I sit back while looking at this drama and think “Really? You’re getting upset about that?”

People see me as calm, laid back and that I’m sure and confident. But I think some of my being calm is not getting all wrapped up in the drama.

The more you focus on you HAVE to accomplish something, it runs away from you.

When I started in real estate, I felt pressure to succeed. I noticed during times like these, I received fewer or no phone calls.

Then I would go for a drive, and the phone would ring.

Why? Because I let go.

Same thing happens when Realtors leave town. They let go, and that’s why they start receiving business just before or during a vacation.

This year has been about letting go. This brings peace. With these two things, I get clarity.

As we wrapped up our session, Melinda summed up our conversation by responding to questions I asked.

  • With clarity you add depth to the dash. You can create life to be whatever you choose.
  • Having faith and believing are keys as well.
  • How this applies to my life is that by letting go of the fear, I was forced to be in the present moment. By being in the moment I was able to enjoy the moment and add depth to my life.
  • Being in the present moment, we did fun things so life didn’t get us down and be negative – like going to a museum.
  • Before all this, I would talk to a co-worker as a sounding board… and really just complain and whine about things.
  • By letting go, in the big scheme of things – are things really that earth shattering and important?  You can see that drama adds stress and negativity. 
  • About business, I found that it looked like I didn’t care and have the drive. No, I still care, but I choose quality of life vs. running myself ragged and getting involved in the hoopla.
  • My experiences this year helped me be in Divine Flow and use the Law of Attraction.  It’s helped me in business to manifest. Two $630,000+ deals came out of the blue.
  • About my finances, I feel very blessed. It goes back to belief that God always takes care of me, and money’s going to come. With all I had going on this year, I still was able to make significant financial gains and have fun.
  • We can get so tied up with everything, we forget to be grateful. And I am very, very grateful.
  • I was getting wrapped up in the pressure of things aren’t good enough. I forgot how we’re programmed for that. So instead I went back into how we’re always provided for, and it brings gratitude.
  • Then you don’t have the heaviness and instead feel lighter and happier.

I told her that she now KNOWS her intentions create what she sees in her life because what she set as part of her goals this year has been happening:

She’s had more fun, more time off, got off the cycle of fear and stress when she redirected her focus to family…  and had a very good year in business.  

May you find some inspiration in Melinda’s story to create the life and business you choose.

God and a universal energy have everything in control.

Nobody and nothing outside of you determines your success and happiness.

It’s up to you to empower yourself from within and not give your power away to others, including those in powerful positions, or circumstances.

 

Virginia works with people who long to share their gifts or business in a BIGGER way but don’t know how or feel stuck. She helps them ignite their Soul’s goals and be richly compensated doing what they love.

For more information on upcoming masterminding teams or a complimentary Do What You Love Break-Free Session, email Virginia at vg@ResolvedForResults.com

Learn more at http://www.ResolvedForResults.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

